14th Anniversary of the Entry into Force of the Mine Ban Treaty

Today marks the 14th anniversary of the entry into force of the treaty which banned the production and use of anti-personnel landmines.  Despite being an early leader in the process, the United States has never signed or ratified the Treaty or made any official statements to indicate that it would do so.  So, to celebrate those that have, the following is a list of the African countries, who despite not having the resources of the United States and several of which have been severely contaminated by mines, have for the last 14 years been committed to banning landmines, clearing minefields and helping landmine survivors to reintegrate into their societies.  Thank you all, you are an inspiration to others.


Burkina Faso


Equatorial Guinea







South Africa


Michael P. Moore

March 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s